Water Resources Advisory Committee (WRAC)

2017 WRAC-January24th

WRAC members discussing the Benton County Comprehensive Local Water Management Plan update


The Water Resources Advisory Committee's (WRAC) mission is to provide coordination between units of government, citizens, and others involved in the protection, management, and improvement of the water resources in Benton County.


The WRAC's purpose is to:

  1. Advise the Benton Soil and Water Conservation District (SWCD) regarding Comprehensive Local Water Management Plan review, adoption, implementation, and recommendation of amendments pursuant to Minnesota Statutes section 103B.301-103B.335; and
  2. Inform the Benton County Board of Commissioners regarding water resources


WRAC Rules & By Laws

WRAC Membership Application

Committee Lead

Amanda Guertin, Water Plan Technician


Voting Members

Warren Peschl, Benton County Board Commissioner
Wade Bastian, Benton SWCD Supervisor, Vice Chair (2015-2017)

Stephen Simones, Benton County Township Officers Association
Lisa Vollbrecht, Benton County Municipalities
Jim Rau, Little Rock Lake Association
Dale Vouk, Member At-Large
Craig Gondeck, Member At-Large
Joe Wollak, Member At-Large, Chair (2015-2017)

Steve Anderson, Member At-Large
Joe Jordan, Benton SWCD Supervisor


Ex-Officio Members

Gerry Maciej, Benton SWCD District Manager
Chris Byrd, Benton County Public Works Director
George Minerich, MDH Principal Planner
Pat Gehling, NRCS District Conservationist
Dan Martens, University of Minnesota Extension Service, Secretary
Steve Marod, DNR Fisheries
Nicki Blake-Bradley, DNR Water Resources
Beau Liddell, DNR Wildlife
Jennifer Gallus, MDA Water Quality Advisor
Phil Votruba, MPCA
Dave Neiman, Minnesota Rural Waters Association

Jason Weinerman, BWSR Board Conservationist
Craig Nelson, City of Sauk Rapids Public Utilities Director
Craig Gondeck, Member At-Large
Dan Cibulka, Sherburne SWCD
Mark McNamara, Benton County Planning and Zoning
Nicole Ruhoff, County Public Health
Duane Cekalla, Member at large


Benton County Commissioners

Warren Peschl, District 1
Ed Popp, District 2
Jim McMahon, District 3
Spencer Buerkle, District 4
A. Jake Bauerly, District 5

 For more information regarding the Water Plan or the Water Resources Advisory Committee please contact the SWCD at (320) 968-5300 Ext. 3.